Menu Close Get Metabase
v0.38.0.1 / FAQ / What Languages Can Be Used With Metabase

What languages can be used with Metabase?

Thanks to our amazing user community, Metabase has been translated into a variety of languages. Due to the nature of how we collect translations (more on that in a minute), available languages may be added or removed during major releases, depending on the translation coverage.

Currently available languages

The languages you can currently pick from in Metabase are:

  • English (default)
  • Bulgarian
  • Catalan
  • Chinese, simplified
  • Chinese, traditional
  • Czech
  • Dutch
  • Farsi/Persian
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Norwegian Bokmål
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Slovak
  • Spanish
  • Swedish
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Vietnamese

Policy for adding and removing translations

The community contributes to Metabase translations on our POEditor project. If you’re a fan of Metabase and would like to see it made available in a language you’re fluent in, we’d love your help!

For new translations to be added to Metabase they must reach 100%. Once they have, we’ll add them in the next major or minor release of Metabase. All existing translations in Metabase must stay at 100% to continue being included in the next major version of Metabase. This is to ensure that no one encounters a confusing mishmash of English and another language when using Metabase.

We understand that this is a high bar, so we commit to making sure that before each major release, any additions or changes to text in the product will be completed at least 10 calendar days before the final release ships, at which point we notify all translators that a new release will be happening soon.

Note that while we will only remove languages in major releases, we will add them back in for minor releases — so it’s always a good time to jump in and start translating!